FP Links: Staying Safe Online | Advertise on FP | FP Shop | FP Lottery
Sponsor Links: Orbact | Buy Social Media Services | Advertise Here

Animation in GIMP?

Read or submit your graphics tutorials here.
User avatar
Super Poster
Posts: 1,056

says...
Re: Animation in GIMP?Re: Animation in GIMP? Post Posted » Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:25 pm
Ashish92 wrote:yes just like frames work in videos layers work in animations.

Only problem that i face in GIMP is i can't find any way to enter custom time interval between frames.

For example if i need 100 millisecond time interval between frame 1 & 2 & 200 millisecond time between frame 2 & 3 then i will have to repeat frame 2 twice because the time interval is constant for every frame (there is only one value that we can select.)

yes you can - rename the layer to whatever but at the end put (150ms) or whatever so i could have

Layer 1 (150ms)
Layer 2 (4535ms)
etc.

Image
Image
Your Banner Here!
http://forumpromotion.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=78&t=53530



User avatar
Super Poster
Posts: 2,240
Location: Brampton, ON Canada

says...
Re: Animation in GIMP?Re: Animation in GIMP? Post Posted » Sun Jul 04, 2010 7:01 pm
Ashish: all you have to do is duplicate however much.


For example.

duplicate layers 1 and 2 three times and duplicate 4 and 5 ten times

Image

User avatar
Forum Junkie
Posts: 4,303
Location: Alabama, USA

says...
Re: Animation in GIMP?Re: Animation in GIMP? Post Posted » Sun Jul 04, 2010 7:06 pm
dotDavid wrote:
Rok wrote:You use layers to make animations with GIMP.


Graphics editors use frames to create animation.


Indeed. Layers are the same thing as frames when making a gif.


User avatar
Super Poster
Posts: 1,056

says...
Re: Animation in GIMP?Re: Animation in GIMP? Post Posted » Sun Jul 04, 2010 7:36 pm
Shahrier wrote:Ashish: all you have to do is duplicate however much.


For example.

duplicate layers 1 and 2 three times and duplicate 4 and 5 ten times


Or you could do this
iGimp wrote:
Ashish92 wrote:yes just like frames work in videos layers work in animations.

Only problem that i face in GIMP is i can't find any way to enter custom time interval between frames.

For example if i need 100 millisecond time interval between frame 1 & 2 & 200 millisecond time between frame 2 & 3 then i will have to repeat frame 2 twice because the time interval is constant for every frame (there is only one value that we can select.)

yes you can - rename the layer to whatever but at the end put (150ms) or whatever so i could have

Layer 1 (150ms)
Layer 2 (4535ms)
etc.


Ashish92 wrote:hmm never thought of doing that :P
thanks +repped :)


Thanks!

Image
Image
Your Banner Here!
http://forumpromotion.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=78&t=53530

User avatar
Super Poster
Posts: 2,659

says...
Re: Animation in GIMP?Re: Animation in GIMP? Post Posted » Sun Jul 04, 2010 7:41 pm
Ashish92 wrote:it's because .gif images use indexed colors so glows etc. come out very weird in it.

options of styling are much limited to suit indexed colors.


How do I fix it?

DarkTide «» Your Link Here! «» Your Link Here! «»
Image
Have Minecraft? Like PVP? DarkTide is right for you.
Join today.

User avatar
Super Poster
Posts: 1,795
Location: India

says...
Re: Animation in GIMP?Re: Animation in GIMP? Post Posted » Sun Jul 04, 2010 7:56 pm
@ Shahrier - yes duplicating is what i do at present in my animations when i want different time intervals.

@ - Dark - there's no solution that i know because .gif's only handle indexed colors so the images shud be kept simpler.


User avatar
FP Regular
Posts: 493
Location: Northern Europe

says...
Re: Animation in GIMP?Re: Animation in GIMP? Post Posted » Sun Jul 04, 2010 9:06 pm
Wow, surprised that there are so many GIMP users. :cheer: I have a newly launched forum dedicated to this powerful program over at GimpForums.com. Personally, I use GIMP mainly for my web design needs. Looks like I'll have to create some tutorials, including tutorials about animation in GIMP.



I'm Banned!
Posts: 2

says...
Re: Animation in GIMP?Re: Animation in GIMP? Post Posted » Mon Sep 19, 2011 6:40 am
Some programs won't let them work on it, so always have two copies of something. It produce one a "work-on" copy in the GIMP, this is called a .xcf file, name it the same only put something like "workon" at the end so they don't get confused.


User avatar
FP Regular
Posts: 544

says...
Re: Animation in GIMP?Re: Animation in GIMP? Post Posted » Tue Oct 11, 2011 10:50 pm
found this tuts in youtube about animation in GIMP :D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qaSz8WNKjD4


Previous

Featured Sites Add your site here...

forum Supromote
Advertise your website for free at Supromote! Supromote is a promotion forum that is on phpBB. Supromote has gained plenty of respect since opening back in December 2013. Check us out! You won't regret it.
Visit Site: Click Here
forum Chilled Echoes
Chilled Echoes is a community founded upon the old ideals of fun friendship and good times for all and is built on an active friendly community.If you want to see for yourself then head on over and say hello.We won't bite... much.
Visit Site: Click Here
Next topicPrevious topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 3 guests