Millennials

MeowsePad

Legendary Typer
Jun 4, 2008
FP$
Why do millennials always exaggerate their accomplishments and the state of their lives on social media?

For example, I am a twenty-something. I currently live in my mom's basement with my girlfriend, and we have a baby on the way. I drive my 2004 Buick Rendezvous (on which I'm still making payments) with no brakes, bald tires, and a broken windshield wiper to another town every day to teach second graders how to read for an extremely modest paycheck. I have a four year degree and earn less than some fast food workers. I have over fifty thousand dollars in student loan debt and nearly ten thousand dollars in credit card debt. Every day, I browse Facebook and read stories about how the people with whom I went to high school and college earn more than I earn annually in a month (working half my hours), own multi-million dollar homes, never have an unhappy moment, and just have absolutely perfect lives. Despite all of that, I'm not unhappy because I have a job that contributes something to society and have a wonderful family. Aside from that, I know that my "friends" on social media are greatly exaggerating their life accomplishments.

I can't help but wonder why millennials feel the need to exaggerate their life accomplishments to such a great extent. The people who exaggerate their life accomplishments in such a manner know deep down that they are not nearly as successful as they are pretending to be. If everyone were as honest as I was above, wouldn't it be beneficial for everyone? Wouldn't everyone feel better about himself or herself?

Reactions: Rick Ace

Rickeo

Acquaintance
Sep 24, 2016
FP$
I think you're going to get this with just about every generation.

The 'millennials' will say similar things about the next generation.